1/26/2018

I’ve got the basics of the floor plan figured out. The decisions that need to be made are:

  1. Regular closet vs walk-in closet. I lose a little floor space with the walk-in, but it might be worth it.
  2. Kitchen and laundry room with dining room beside it or eat-in kitchen with laundry beside it.
  3. Normal second story bathroom or Jack-and-Jill bathroom

I also realized that instead of running joists from outside wall to outside wall (20′ feet), I can turn the internal walls into bearing walls and run the struts the other way (12′). This means I can use solid lumber instead of engineered joists. The engineered joists are better, but a little expensive. I will need to crunch the numbers both ways.

The kids and grand-kids have requested that I put the a garden in this year. Instead of a large, main crop garden I am looking to put in small kitchen garden with intensive planting. As such, I have gotten back to work on my garden guide.

Posted in Gardening, House

Leave a Reply

Follow Victory Re-education Center (and Health Spa) on WordPress.com
Calendar
January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
