6/27/2016

Made my first batch of boilies. My base mix ratio was 1 cup all purpose flour : 1 cup yellow corn meal : 1 tablespoon salt. I bought a small bag of flour and corn meal, so I just measured them out (about 5 cups of each) and added the correct quantity of salt. In a bowl, I beat 4 whole eggs and a splash of cooking oil. The ratio was supposed to be 1/4 tablespoon oil to each egg, but I just guessed it. 

Once that was beaten, I slowly added the base mix until the dough formed into a slightly sticky ball. Normally, this would be the stage where I would turn the dough
out and start kneading it. However, I wanted the corn meal to have a chance to thoroughly moisten first, so the dough was wrapped in cellophane and put in the fridge to rest for an hour.

Now I finished kneading it and put a pot of water on to boil. I tried rolling balls and pinching off cubes, but finally settled on rolling it into logs and cutting off slices. These went into the pot in small batches for 2 to 3 minutes. After that, they went on to a cookie sheet lined with paper towels to cool and dry overnight.

Lessons for next time:
1. Make sure there is plenty of water in the pot. I had to add some to cook the last batch.
2. Put boilies into a colander to drain before the cookie sheet. I had to replace the first set of paper towels because of excess water.

Posted in Daily, Fishing, Recipe
One comment on “6/27/2016
  1. scseery says:

    This might be a good way to use masa instead of regular cornmeal. You might try it, or 50/50 next time. It seems like we always have too much corn masa around.

Leave a Reply

Follow Victory Re-education Center (and Health Spa) on WordPress.com
Calendar
June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
