9/4/2014 – 2nd of Early Fall

Had an epiphany on how to handle the okra problem. Okra has to be harvested frequently and doesn’t store well in the refrigerator. This means I have many small batches that aren’t worth trying to can or freeze. The solution is to pickle the okra in the refrigerator. It will last for 3 to 6 months and the recipe is the same as pickled okra made in the canner. So I can hold the okra in brine until I have enough to can (and wait for the weather to cool). I made four quarts using the following recipe:

  1. Trim the stems off of the okra. Most instruction say to leave a quarter inch on, but I just cut at the junction between the stem and pod. This is also a good time to determine if they have gotten too woody.
  2. Fill each quart jar with as much okra as I can pack. Start off putting in the large ends first, then put the narrow ends in first to finish filling
  3. Add to each jar 1 T of pickling spice (I found a brand that doesn’t use dill), 1 t of onion flakes (fresh would probably be better, but it was what I had), and 1 clove of peeled whole garlic (two I they are small)
  4. Make a brine by heating 1 c vinegar, 1 c water, 1 T pickling or kosher salt, and 1 t sugar until the sugar and salt dissolve.
  5. Fill the jars with brine to submerge all okra and let sit on counter for an hour.
  6. Top of the containers as needed and loosely attach lids and bands. The fermentation will produce gas that needs to be allowed to escape.

I will need to do more research on proper canning procedure, but I think it is boiling bath for 15 minutes. Will post exact procedure once I have enough jars to can. Four down so far.

Posted in Daily

Leave a Reply

Follow Victory Re-education Center (and Health Spa) on WordPress.com
Calendar
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
